Whiteness within the Environment

visual threeAt first when I was thinking back to how my life related to whiteness in the environment I could not think of a way that I have done something that could relate to this topic. Then last year I took my first year in Yorkton, Saskatchewan through the college there. The educational classes that I had taken there were through the First Nation university. I only took one educational class there and it was formed around First Nation content. So, even though in the education classes here we talk about first nation content, how to teach it along with what to teach this was more in depth with that concept rather than the actual work. It was first nation first other stuff second whereas we go the main concept first then first nation unless teaching specifically first nation contents. With this course we got to go outdoors a lot and do touring and understanding the first nation culture to a deeper understanding. As my teacher was first nation he showed us many pictures of reserves and with that in itself I felt extremely lucky to be who I am. We also went out and helped make a tepee where all of us students go to experience what those were like and how they were to make them. The whole experience made me realize how different life is between cultures and how whiteness is viewed throughout the environment. I never would have imagined the environment being considered as having whiteness apart of it.

One thought on “Whiteness within the Environment

  1. Pingback: MetaReflection Assessment | Shayna kemp

Leave a comment