My Love Letter

To my other half,

The world is an adventurous place. But, I still wonder how you deal with the change that is so rapid, how it can be so bare in the morning and then so beautifully and warm throughout the day. How do you understand the way the outdoors changes with your mood; as I assume it does for you what it does to me? You treat the outdoors like it is you’re everything. You never complain when it is too cold or when it is raining. You inspire me to be a better me when it comes to the environment. I love that about you. I love how you give me inspiration to go out and get fresh air during those brisk days, even on those days where it is scorching hot outside. You never belittle me you always try your hardest to get me to understand the whys. You talk about the outdoors with such an open mind; you are always full of adventure. You show me a sense of direction, a sense of belonging. The way you take me on adventures through the mountains, around lakes, valleys, seas; you make sure I see the environment through your eyes. For that I cannot thank you enough but I will try. Those days where I am sad and lonely you grab me by the arm and make me get some fresh air, you help me find my thoughts through a nice evening walk. You are always doing the yard work, picking the leaves, cutting the grass, pushing the snow. You may hate putting up Christmas decorations but you do so for me. You go outside in the freezing cold to put up the decorations I love to look at and you do not even complain. A year ago you made me go skating with you out in the nice winter weather just so that we could have quality time outdoors. I love you making sure I do anything and everything to see you outdoors, having adventures out in the environment where we see it as home, a sense of belonging.  Thank you for being my rock and taking me through these adventures with you.

Love, Shayna

2 thoughts on “My Love Letter

  1. Pingback: Ecoliteracy Braid | mckaila scharfenberg

  2. Pingback: Ecoliteracy Braid – Jeremy ESCI 302 Blog

Leave a comment