Mathematics & Cultures

As I think back to my math classes that I took I cannot think of any ways I was oppressed or discriminated but I do remember other students being treated wrongly. I was not too bad at math and always caught on to what I was doing. There were students in my class that were treated unfairly because they did not understand math in a good enough way for the teacher, it took these students twice as long to complete the assignments. The teacher would get frustrated with how long it was taking the student to finish so she/he would get upset and make gestures showing frustration. Not once did any of my teachers call any students down or say they were stupid or anything like that but they did have gestures that showed that is what they wanted to say.

There are many ways that the Inuit Community has challenged Eurocentric ways some of which include changing the way numbers are being said, instead of English use the Inuit languages. Throughout different cultures they have different symbols instead of using lines or dots, changing the symbols to help the children understand different ways to do math. Another reason could be that each culture has different tools in solving problems. This is a way for children to change their thinking from their what we call “original” way of thinking to something that involves different cultures.

Leave a comment